Home » SCIENCE » Watch Lunar Exclipse or ‘Blood Moon’ tonight: Time, Where to watch live, online live streaming information

Watch Lunar Exclipse or ‘Blood Moon’ tonight: Time, Where to watch live, online live streaming information

Wednesday night is witnessing the second total lunar eclipse when the moon is completely in the Earth’s shadow and looking red in color, what is known "blood moon" and those in the western half of the United States can see the moon in a burnt reddish color.

In India, it will be seen for 15 minutes, according to astophysicists. Here are the details:

Lunar eclipse starts (with moonrise) – 17:47:38

Lunar eclipse ends – 18:04:20

Local eclipse duration – 00 hours 16 mins 42 secs

Moonrise – 17:47:38

Meanwhile, temples in Tirumala, Ayodhya and other major shrines will remain closed during the lunar eclipse.

Those who cannot see the blood moon or total lunar eclipse can watch it online live at Slooh.com (http://www.slooh.com) or Space.com featuring live views of the total eclipse starting at 5 a.m. EDT (0900 GMT). NASA will also carry a live stream of the total eclipse with a live chat with its experts starting at 3 a.m. EDT (0700 GMT).
In addition, the Virtual Telescope Project in Italy will stream its views from Italy at 6 a.m. EDT (1000 GMT).

Wednesday’s total lunar eclipse can be seen, weather permitting, in East Asia, Australia, much of North America and western South America. It is the second in a "tetrad" of lunar eclipses to take place in 2014 and 2015. The first one , called "blood moon" occurred in April and today’s is the second one that occurs when the moon get its rosy pallor when it passes through Earth’s shadow. It appears red not black because of light reflected from the sun.

"The color of the moon when the eclipse is total delivers an environmental report card about ourselves," Slooh astronomer Bob Berman said."If the moon turns coppery red, that’s normal. But a black totality indicates either major volcanic eruptions on Earth, or rare cloudiness surrounding the limb of our planet. This potential variability provides yet another reason to tune in."

People on the east coast of the United States should see it in total beginning from 6:25 a.m. EDT (1025 GMT), just before sunrise. Observers on the west coast of North America have a better chance of seeing the total lunar eclipse for over an hour starting at 3:25 a.m. EDT (0725 GMT), when it is completely dark.

Since the moon’s orbit is not a perfect circle, instead of passing through the Earth’s shadow each month an eclipse of the moon only occurs during a full moon, when the planet and the natural satellite are well aligned.

The last total lunar eclipse tetrad lasted during 2003 and 2004 period and the next tetrad will be during 2014 and 2015 and today’s eclipse is the second in the row. The next lunar eclipse in the series will occur on April 4, 2015, and the last in the tetrad will appear in September 2015.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *