, pub-5362620378249035, DIRECT, f08c47fec0942fa0
Home » GENERAL » Infosys Prizes 2015 Announced: Bangalore Scientist, Biologist, Monk, Philosopher, Ex-Army Officer Among Recipients

Infosys Prizes 2015 Announced: Bangalore Scientist, Biologist, Monk, Philosopher, Ex-Army Officer Among Recipients

The Infosys Science Foundation (ISF) has announced 2015 Infosys Prizes for scientists and humanities experts carrying a purse prize of $100,000 and a 22 karat gold medallion and a citation certificate. In rupee terms, it comes to Rs.65 lakhs.

The Infosys Prize 2015 was given to luminaries in six categories — Engineering and Computer Science, Humanities, Life Sciences, Mathematics, Physics and Social Sciences.

This year’s winners include an ex-army officer, a monk and a philosopher among others, whose work spans fields as diverse as analytical Indian Philosophy, the atomic structure of the killer malaria parasite and India’s foreign and security policies, said the foundation in a statement.

Given by the Infosys Science Foundation, a not-for-profit trust instituted in February 2009 by Infosys, it has a corpus which stands at over Rs.130 Crore ($20 million), contributed by the former Board of Directors and senior management at Infosys.

Mr. S. D. Shibulal, President, Board of Trustees, Infosys Science Foundation said, “We started with the Infosys Prize in 2009 and have since added high-touch, high-impact initiatives such as public lectures, training workshops for government school teachers and science oriented events for school students.”

The Awards Ceremony will be held on February 13, 2016, in New Delhi, where President Pranab Mukherjee will felicitate the winners.

The winners of the Infosys Prize 2015 are:

Engineering and Computer Science
Prof. Umesh Waghmare, Professor – Theoretical Sciences Unit, Jawaharlal Nehru Centre for Advanced Scientific Research (JNCASR), Bangalore, India is awarded for his innovative use of first-principles theories and modeling in insightful investigations of microscopic mechanisms responsible for specific properties of certain materials such as topological insulators, ferroelectrics, multiferroics and graphene.

Prof. Jonardon Ganeri, Global Network Professor of Philosophy, New York University and Recurrent Visiting Professor, Department of Philosophy, King’s College London, UK is awarded for his outstanding scholarship and originality in interpreting and scrutinizing analytical Indian Philosophy and shedding light on shared ground as well as the dichotomy between Indian and Greek traditions of philosophical reasoning.

Life Sciences
Dr. Amit Sharma, Group Leader, Structural and Computational Biology Group, International Centre for Genetic Engineering and Biotechnology (ICGEB), New Delhi, India is awarded for his pioneering contributions towards deciphering the molecular structure, at the atomic level, of key proteins involved in the biology of pathogenesis of the deadly malarial parasite.

Mathematical Sciences
Prof. Mahan Mj, Professor of Mathematics, Tata Institute of Fundamental Research, Mumbai, India is awarded for his contributions to geometric group theory, low-dimensional topology and complex geometry. In particular, Prof. established a central conjecture in the Thurston program to study hyperbolic 3-manifolds and introduced important new tools to study fundamental groups of complex manifolds

Physical Sciences
Prof. G Ravindra Kumar, Professor in the Department of Nuclear and Atomic Physics (DNAP), Tata Institute of Fundamental Research (TIFR), Mumbai, India is awarded for his pioneering experimental contributions to the physics of high intensity laser matter interactions. In particular for providing, for the first time, unequivocal evidence of turbulent magnetic fields and the discovery of terahertz frequency acoustic waves, in laser produced hot dense plasmas. These results have significance to testing stellar and astrophysical scenarios.

Social Sciences
Dr. Srinath Raghavan, Senior Fellow, Centre for Policy Research, New Delhi, India is awarded for outstanding research that synthesizes military history, international politics, and strategic analysis into powerful and imaginative perspectives on India in global context.


The jury was more or less the same as it was last year, comprising: Prof. Pradeep K. Khosla (University of California San Diego) for Engineering and Computer Science; Prof. Amartya Sen (Harvard University) for Humanities; Dr. Inder Verma (Salk Institute of Biological Sciences) for Life Sciences; Prof. Srinivasa S. R. Varadhan (New York University) for Mathematical Sciences; Prof. Shrinivas Kulkarni (California Institute of Technology) for Physical Sciences; and Prof. Kaushik Basu (The World Bank) for Social Sciences.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *