Home » WORLD » 7.3M EarthQuake Hits Coast Off El Salvador, Nicaragua, Tsunami alert given

7.3M EarthQuake Hits Coast Off El Salvador, Nicaragua, Tsunami alert given

An earthquake with 7.3 magnitude struck the Pacific region off El Salvador and Nicaragua, killing at least one person, though there was aTsunami Alert given.

The US Geological Survey (USGS) said the quake jolted five hours ago the coast of El Salvador and Nicaragua at 03:52 GMT on Tuesday with the epicentre at 67 km west-southwest of Jiquilillo with a depth of 40 km.

El Salvador has laerted its people living nearby the coast to move inland. The US Pacific Tsunami Warning Center issued the tsunami alert for the region within 300 km of the epicenter.

Two aftershocks shook the region in the range of 4.4 magnitude, 94km WSW of Masachapa, Nicaragua at 15:53:45, and 5.0 magnitude, 90km WSW of Jiquilillo, Nicaragua, said USGS.

Event Time

  1. 2014-10-14 03:51:35 UTC
  2. 2014-10-13 21:51:35 UTC-06:00 at epicenter
  3. 2014-10-14 09:21:35 UTC+05:30 system time

Location

12.576°N 88.046°W depth=40.0km (24.9mi)

Nearby Cities

  1. 67km (42mi) WSW of Jiquilillo, Nicaragua
  2. 86km (53mi) SSW of La Union, El Salvador
  3. 95km (59mi) W of Corinto, Nicaragua
  4. 95km (59mi) SSE of San Rafael Oriente, El Salvador
  5. 174km (108mi) SE of San Salvador, El Salvador

El Salvador’s Past Earthquakes:

Nicaragua’s Past Earthquakes:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*