Home » SPORTS » Sri Lanka vs New Zealand: World Cup Opening Match Preview, Prediction, Date, Live Stream, TV Info

Sri Lanka vs New Zealand: World Cup Opening Match Preview, Prediction, Date, Live Stream, TV Info

slflag nzflagLast World Cup finalists Sri Lanka will take on co-hosts New Zealand at the 2015 Cricket World Cup in Christchurch on Friday at 10 PM GMT. Usually the opening day opponents will be the runers-up in the previous two World Cup finals.

Match 1: Sri Lanka vs New Zealand, Christchurch

Date: Friday, Feb. 13

Time: 10 p.m. (GMT) 3:30 PM (IST ) 3:30 PM (Sri Lankan Time) New Zealand (11 AM local time) USA (5 PM ET)

TV Info: Star Sports 1, 3, Star HD (India), Sky Sports 2 (UK)

Where to Watch Live:

The World Cup Match will be shown live in India and Sri Lanka on Star Sports 1 and Star Sports HD 1. Viewers can also watch the match via live streaming online on Starsports.com.

While the host nation watcher can see it in Australia and New Zealand on Channel Nine and Fox Sports, viewers can also see the live streaming on Cricket Australia Live. Audience in the USA can catch it up on ESPN TV channel or Watch ESPN for livestreaming.

Cricket fans in the UK can watch the SKy Sports 2 (Sky Sports World Cup) or for live stream hit on Sky Go.

Preview:

The Black Caps are found to be in their best form possible this season and they are always stronger on home ground. Even Australia will travel to New Zealand to play in their Pool A game.

Since Kiwis defeated sri Lanka recently in a seven-match series, the return to the ground with confidence and as history shows, Sri Lanka falters in its opening matches.

The Saturday match is the first match of the World Cup and both teams poised to win the match at greater risk than usual. Sri Lanka reached the finals twice in the past, once in 2007 and again in 2011 when they faced defeat in the hands of India. But they are the current champions of the World T20 title, and another will not be a Herculean task for them.

Players to Watch from New Zealand include Kane Williamson and skipper Brendon McCullum. Even Adam Milne, who should get quick runs for the team. On Sri Lankan side, the three stars of the team — Tillakaratne Dilshan, Mahela Jayawardene and Kumar Sangakkara — will decide which side the match goes, win or lose. For bowling Sri Lanka depends on traditional experience of Rangana Herath and Lasith Malinga.

Team news:

New Zealand: With no injuries reported, McCullum will have the final say in choosing whom to field and filter in the match but the pace trio Trent Boult, Adam Milne and Tim Southee cannot be ignored.

Sri Lanka: With the last player Dushmanth Chameera touching down in New Zealand as a late replacement for Dhammika Prasad, the opening duo will be different on Saturday.

Prediction: Sri Lanka should win by all means unless New Zealand repeats its recent good show put up against the Lankans.

Teams:

New Zealand: Brendon McCullum (capt), Martin Guptill, Kane Williamson, Ross Taylor, Grant Taylor, Luke Ronchi (wk), Corey Anderson, Daniel Vettori, Tim Southee, Adam Milne, Trent Boult.

Sri Lanka: Angelo Mathews (capt), Tillakaratne Dilshan, Lahiru Thirimanne, Kumar Sangakkara (wk), Mahela Jayawardene, Dinesh Chandimal, Thisara Perera, Jeevan Mendis, Nuwan Kulasekara, , Lasith Malinga, Rangana Herath.

 

FULL SCHEDULE Of ICC Cricket World Cup 2015:

Match 1: 14 February: Pool A: New Zealand vs Sri Lanka (11 am local time, 3.30 am IST, 10 pm GMT, 5 pm ET) at Hagley Oval, Christchurch.

Match 2: 14 February: Pool A: Australia vs England (2.30 pm local time, 9 am IST, 3.30 am GMT, 10.30 pm ET) at the MCG, Melbourne.

Match 3: 15 February: Pool B: South Africa vs Zimbabwe (2 pm local time, 6.30 am IST, 1 am GMT, 8 pm ET) at Seddon Park, Hamilton.

Match 4: 15 February: Pool B: India vs Pakistan (2 pm local time, 9 am IST, 3.30 am GMT, 10.30 pm ET) at Adelaide Oval, Adelaide.

Match 5: 16 February: Pool B: Ireland vs West Indies (11 am local time, 3.30 am IST, 10 pm GMT, 5 pm ET) at Saxton Oval, Nelson.

Match 6: 17 February: Pool A: New Zealand vs Scotland (11 am local time, 3.30 am IST, 10 pm GMT, 5 pm ET) at University Oval, Dunedin.

Match 7: 18 February: Pool A: Afghanistan vs Bangladesh (2.30 pm local time, 9 am IST, 3.30 am GMT, 10.30 pm ET) at Manuka Oval, Canberra.

Match 8: 19 February: Pool B: UAE vs Zimbabwe (11 am local time, 3.30 am IST, 10 pm GMT, 5 pm ET) at Saxton Oval, Nelson.

Match 9: 20 February: Pool A: New Zealand vs England (2 pm local time, 6.30 am IST, 1 am GMT, 8 pm ET) at Westpac Stadium, Wellington.

Match 10: 21 February: Pool B: Pakistan vs West Indies (11 am local time, 3.30 am IST, 10 pm GMT, 5 pm ET) at Hagley Oval, Christchurch.

Match 11: 21 February: Pool A: Australia vs Bangladesh (1.30 pm local time, 9 am IST, 3.30 am GMT, 10.30 pm ET) at Gabba, Brisbane.

Match 12: 22 February: Pool A: Afghanistan vs Sri Lanka (11 am local time, 3.30 am IST, 10 pm GMT, 5 pm ET) at University Oval, Dunedin.

Match 13: 22 February: Pool B: India vs South Africa at (2.30 pm local time, 9 am IST, 3.30 am GMT, 10.30 pm ET) MCG, Melbourne.

Match 14: 23 February: Pool A: England vs Scotland (11 am local time, 3.30 am IST, 10 pm GMT, 5 pm ET) at Hagley Oval, Christchurch.

Match 15: 24 February: Pool B: West Indies vs Zimbabwe (2.30 pm local time, 9 am IST, 3.30 am GMT, 10.30 pm ET) at Manuka Oval, Canberra.

Match 16: 25 February: Pool B: Ireland vs UAE at (1.30 pm local time, 9 am IST, 3.30 am GMT, 10.30 pm ET) at Gabba, Brisbane.

Match 17: 26 February: Pool A: Afghanistan vs Scotland (11 am local time, 3.30 am IST, 10 pm GMT, 5 pm ET) at University Oval, Dunedin.

Match 18: 26 February: Pool A: Bangladesh vs Sri Lanka at (2.30 pm local time, 9 am IST, 3.30 am GMT, 10.30 pm ET) at MCG, Melbourne.

Match 19: 27 February: Pool B: South Africa vs West Indies (2.30 pm local time, 9 am IST, 3.30 am GMT, 10.30 pm ET) at SCG, Sydney.

Match 20: 28 February: Pool A: New Zealand vs Australia (2.30 pm local time, 9 am IST, 3.30 am GMT, 10.30 pm ET) at Eden Park, Auckland.

Match 21: 28 February: Pool B: India vs UAE (2.30 pm local time, 12 pm IST, 6.30 am GMT, 1.30 am ET) at WACA, Perth.

Match 22: 1 March: Pool A: England vs Sri Lanka (11 am local time, 3.30 am IST, 10 pm GMT, 5 pm ET) at Westpac Stadium, Wellington.

Match 23: 1 March: Pool B: Pakistan vs Zimbabwe (1.30 pm local time, 9 am IST, 3.30 am GMT, 10.30 pm ET) at Gabba, Brisbane.

Match 24: 3 March: Pool B: Ireland vs South Africa (2.30 pm local time, 9 am IST, 3.30 am GMT, 10.30 pm ET) at Manuka Oval, Canberra.

Match 25: 4 March: Pool B: Pakistan vs UAE (2 pm local time, 6.30 am IST, 1 am GMT, 8 pm ET) at McLean Park, Napier.

Match 26: 4 March: Pool A: Australia vs Afghanistan (2.30 pm local time, 12 pm IST, 6.30 am GMT, 1.30 am ET) at WACA, Perth.

Match 27: 5 March: Pool A: Bangladesh vs Scotland (11 am local time, 3.30 am IST, 10 pm GMT, 5 pm ET) at Saxton Oval, Nelson.

Match 28: 6 March: Pool B: India vs West Indies at (2.30 pm local time, 12 pm IST, 6.30 am GMT, 1.30 am ET) at WACA, Perth.

Match 29: 7 March: Pool B: Pakistan vs South Africa (2 pm local time, 6.30 am IST, 1 am GMT, 8 pm ET) at Eden Park, Auckland.

Match 30: 7 Match: Pool B: Ireland vs Zimbabwe (2.30 pm local time, 9 am IST, 3.30 am GMT, 10.30 pm ET) at Bellerive Oval, Hobart.

Match 31: 8 March: Pool A: New Zealand vs Afghanistan (11 am local time, 3.30 am IST, 10 pm GMT, 5 pm ET) at McLean Park, Napier.

Match 32: 8 March: Pool A: Australia vs Sri Lanka (2.30 pm local time, 9 am IST, 3.30 am GMT, 10.30 pm ET) at SCG, Sydney.

Match 33: 9 March: Pool A: England vs Bangladesh (2 pm local time, 9 am IST, 3.30 am GMT, 10.30 pm ET) at Adelaide Oval, Adelaide.

Match 34: 10 March: Pool B: India vs Ireland (2 pm local time, 6.30 am IST, 1 am GMT, 8 pm ET) at Seddon Park, Hamilton.

Match 35: 11 March: Pool A: Scotland vs Sri Lanka (2.30 pm local time, 9 am IST, 3.30 am GMT, 10.30 pm ET) at Bellerive Oval, Hobart.

Match 36: 12 March: Pool B: South Africa vs UAE (2 pm local time, 6.30 am IST, 1 am GMT, 8 pm ET) at Westpac Stadium, Wellington.

Match 37: 13 March: Pool A: New Zealand vs Bangladesh (2 pm local time, 6.30 am IST, 1 am GMT, 8 pm ET) at Seddon Park, Hamilton.

Match 38: 13 March: Pool A: Afghanistan vs England (2.30 pm local time, 9 am IST, 3.30 am GMT, 10.30 pm ET) at SCG, Sydney.

Match 39: 14 March: Pool B: India vs Zimbabwe (2 pm local time, 6.30 am IST, 1 am GMT, 8 pm ET) at Eden Park, Auckland.

Match 40: 14 March: Pool A: Australia vs Scotland (2.30 pm local time, 9 am IST, 3.30 am GMT, 10.30 pm ET) at Bellerive Oval, Hobart.

Match 41: 15 March: Pool B: UAE vs West Indies (11 am local time, 3.30 am IST, 10 pm GMT, 5 pm ET) at McLean Park, Napier.

Match 42: 15 March: Pool B: Ireland vs Pakistan (2 pm local time, 9 am IST, 3.30 am GMT, 10.30 pm ET) at Adelaide Oval, Adelaide.

Match 43: 18 March: 1st Quarterfinal (A1 vs B4) (2.30 pm local time, 9 am IST, 3.30 am GMT, 10.30 pm ET) at SCG, Sydney.

Match 44: 19 March: 2nd Quarterfinal (A2 vs B3) (2.30 pm local time, 9 am IST, 3.30 am GMT, 10.30 pm ET) at MCG, Melbourne.

Match 45: 20 March: 3rd Quarterfinal (A3 vs B2) (2 pm local time, 9 am IST, 3.30 am GMT, 10.30 pm ET) at Adelaide Oval, Adelaide.

Match 46: 21 March: 4th Quarterfinal (A4 vs B1) (2 pm local time, 6.30 am IST, 1 am GMT, 8 pm ET) at Westpac Stadium, Wellington.

Match 47: 24 March: 1st Semifinal (2 pm local time, 6.30 am IST, 1 am GMT, 8 pm ET) at Eden Park, Auckland.

Match 48: 25 March: 2nd Semifinal (2.30 pm local time, 9 am IST, 3.30 am GMT, 10.30 pm ET) at SCG, Sydney.

Match 49: 29 March: Final (2.30 pm local time, 9 am IST, 3.30 am GMT, 10.30 pm ET) at MCG, Melbourne.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

*